Inspired as F**k
The Art of Noticing
107 - How Useful It Is to Fool Myself
0:00
-9:59

107 - How Useful It Is to Fool Myself

Transcript

No transcript...

Today I realized that I have a set of superstitious beliefs that I've learned to work with rather than against. For example, I have a habit of knocking on wood, but instead of getting all OCD about it, I’ll tell myself that one knock-on-wood can last until morning. It’s dumb, yes … but it’s also an example of using our neuroses within our rules instead of letting them control us.

The creative lesson I took from this Noticing is the significance of personal rituals and beliefs in shaping our worldview and our art. Incorporating characters' superstitions or rituals can add cool idiosyncrasies that make them more relatable and human. These small, irrational practices reveal a lot about a character's personality, fears, and coping mechanisms.

WANT MORE?
Members get extra episodes of the podcast, extra companion blog posts (see below), and more every week … all for the price of a fancy coffee. Learn about membership here.

Prefer reading?
Listening to the Art of Noticing podcast is only one way to get these lessons. Every episode of the podcast also has a complete companion blog post, all of which you can find here.

0 Comments
Inspired as F**k
The Art of Noticing
**A Bite-Sized Podcast that Teaches You to See and Use the Creative Inspiration That's Already Around You** Trouble with the muse? Believe me, I get it. Even after 120 books and a show on Hulu, I have as much trouble “finding the magic” as anyone. But the truth is, you don’t need to seek inspiration because it’s already all around you … if you know how to see it. Each 10-minute episode of “The Art of Noticing” contains two parts: something small and almost random I noticed around me, then a creative lesson I made from it, like spinning gold from straw. Whether it’s something in the news, the rhythm of rain against the window, a bit of trivia, word from a friend, or some small tidbit I picked up somewhere, anything can be creative fuel if you can learn to see what’s in front of you. Nothing is ordinary. Everything is art! /// Find show notes, transcriptions, and multi-weekly blog posts at https://www.johnnybtruant.com